My Developer Journey  "Dev Retro 2022"

My Developer Journey "Dev Retro 2022"

The end of the beginning

ยท

3 min read

Introduction

Hi, ๐Ÿ‘‹ friends! A 2nd-year B.tech student with no idea about programming, I used to go to college and watch friends๐Ÿ‘€ doing great in programming, thinking about how can I start my programming journey to teaching them. This year went well.

1. ๐Ÿง‘ Kunal Kushwaha's contribution

Like most college students are searching for how to learn to code ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ’ป, I am doing the same. Clicked on a podcast by Ishan Sharma in which Kunal shares how he started learning to program and cracked GSOC in 1st year. After that, I went to Kunal's youtube channel to watch some videos. That video helps me to start and do better in coding.

You can find Kunal's channel here

2. ๐Ÿ“– Java journey

Somewhere in mid-February, start learning Kunal's ongoing Java DSA series.

Started with the basics of java. While learning Oops I faced some difficulties in learning inheritance but with time it get solved. In May, started learning DSA till now. first with an array, string, and then recursion. I must say his recursion videos are the best free resources๐Ÿ–ค. In June, I start solving Leetcode problems and take part in the CodeChef contest. Leetcode problems are really good and at the same time difficult for beginners, solving the leetcode problem helps in building logic ๐Ÿค”. In starting I am consistently solving the leetcode problems, but due to examinations and holidays in August and September I did not solve problems consistently, but from November I am trying to be consistent.

My leetcode profile: amit_88

3. Web Development journey

After 2nd semester examination, we got 1 month's holiday. So, I decided to learn web development ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ’ป for that I took a Udemy course from where my friend is already learning. In the first week, I learn basic HTML and build a personal website. Within 2 months I learned CSS and JavaScript. After that, I learned some frameworks and libraries such as Bootstrap, jQuery, express js, and Node js. After that, I moved to learn API. Currently, I am learning about databases.

I have made some projects while learning web development you can see them all on my Github account.

4. ๐Ÿš€ Contribution's to Hacktoberfest and open source

Again I know about Hacktoberfest and open source from Kunal Kushwaha.

In October, I participated in Hacktberfest ๐Ÿš€. At the beginning of October

I struggled a lot to find open-source projects then I search on google how to find open-source projects and some tips to search organizations on GitHub. Through the help of youtube videos, I found a few organizations for web development. At that time I did not learn about backend development, So I contributed๐Ÿ˜Š as a frontend developer๐Ÿ–ค.

From Hacktoberfest I learn a few things:

  • How to find an open-source project.

  • Get involved in communities.

  • Learn how to read large code bases.

  • How to network with people.

1665541405005.jpg

5. ๐Ÿ’โ€โ™‚๏ธ Community support and Linkedin

In my college, there are no such communities and groups which help students to grow as developers. In starting I used to take guidance from any person without seeing that person's technical background. Later I involve in some communities and learn how to network with people, for same Linkedin help me to connect ๐Ÿ”— with people.

You can find me on Linkedin.

6. โ–ถ Started a blog and Youtube channel

Sharing knowledge is vital for our species. It gives us self-esteem and eventually will bring peace.

In November, I decided to share my learning with others. So, I know 2 ways of sharing knowledge blogs and videos.

I start writing a blog with Hashnode. Here is my first blog ๐Ÿ“.

In the future, I'll be sharing my learning and some content on this channel.

It would be nice if you tell me how was your this year? Let us know in the comments below! ๐Ÿ‘‡

ย